Menü

ZINKPOWER goes Bauhaus –

traditional modernity meets sustainable corrosion protection

A premiere at the Building Culture Convention in Potsdam: the bauhausTWINS installation, a large-scale spatial assemblage by zukunftsgeraeusche GbR, encourages visitors to engage with the legacy of modernity. During the Bauhaus year of 2019, the installation is doing to tour Central and Eastern Europe as a central piece in a festival featuring the Goethe-Institut and further partners.

bauhausTWINS is a walk-in installation of reused façade elements from the studio house façade of the Dessau Bauhaus, dating back to major refurbishment measures performed in 1976.

The window and door elements were removed on the occasion of another refurbishment of the Bauhaus building conducted in 2011. The Bauhaus Dessau Foundation provided the elements to zukunfsgeraeusche, as part of the overall bauhaus reuse project.

The installation comprises a hot-dip galvanized steel construction, from which the reused elements are suspended in varying constellations. The construction is open on all sides and it offers different spatial impressions and access options from every direction.

“When we were asked to take care of hot-dip galvanizing for the installation, we agreed without much hesitation,” Peter Siemund, Regional Director East for the ZINKPOWER group, remembers. “Technically speaking, hot-dip galvanizing of the structure turned out to be a very standard job. However, it was a great honour that we were offered the opportunity to act as a sponsor for a project of such high prestige. We consider the legacy of Bauhaus culture to form a significant part of artistic and historic construction activities in Germany to this day.”

Source: zukunftsgeraeusche GbR
© zgk, Till Budde

Menü

ZINKPOWER goes Bauhaus

Traditionelle Moderne trifft nachhaltigen Korrosionsschutz

Premiere auf dem Konvent der Baukultur in Potsdam: Als räumliche Assem­blage im großen Maßstab lädt die Installation bauhausTWINS von zukunfts­geraeusche GbR ein, sich mit dem Erbe der Moderne zu befassen. Im Laufe des Bauhaus-Jahres 2019 reist die Installation als zentrales Objekt für ein Festi­val mit dem Goethe-Institut und weiteren Partnern nach Mittel- und Osteuropa.

bauhausTWINS ist eine begehbare Installation mit wiederverwendeten Fas­sadenelementen aus der Atelierhaus-Fassade des Bauhauses Dessau, die aus dessen großer Sanierung von 1976 stammen.

Die Fenster- und Tür-Elemente wurden anlässlich der neuerlichen Sanierung des Bauhaus-Gebäudes im Jahr 2011 ausgebaut und von der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau an zukunftsgeraeusche zur Verfügung gestellt, als ein Teil des Ge­samtprojekts bauhaus reuse.

Die Installation besteht aus einer feuerverzinkten Stahlkonstruktion, in der die wiederverwendeten Elemente in unterschiedlichen Konstellationen gehängt sind. Die Konstruktion ist allseitig offen und stellt aus jeder Richtung einen anderen räum­lichen Eindruck und Zugang her.

„Als wir angefragt wurden, ob wir die Feuerverzinkung der Installation übernehmen würden, haben wir ohne langes Zögern zugesagt“, erinnert sich Peter Siemund, Regionalleiter Ost der ZINKPOWER Gruppe. „Aus technischer Sicht erwies sich die Feuerverzinkung schließlich als reine Standardaufgabe. Dagegen war es für uns eine besondere Ehre, als Sponsor eines derart renommierten Projekts in Erscheinung treten zu dürfen. Für uns macht das Erbe der Bauhauskultur auch heute noch einen gewichtigen Teil des künstlerischen und historischen Bauens in Deutschland aus.“

Grafik/Fotos: © zgk, Till Budde, zukunftsgeräusche GbR

Quelle Text: zukunftsgeräusche GbR